As Memorial Weekend approaches, many Arizonans will be traveling – and often drinking alcohol – more than usual. Now is a good time to reflect on the potential consequences of consuming alcohol or drugs – even prescription medications – and then driving. “Drunk driving” is a commonly used term, but not a legal one;…Details
The Carroll Law Firm, PLC is very excited to welcome new associate attorney, Jesse J. Marziale! I grew-up in Arizona. I love the sun and plan on staying in sunny Arizona indefinitely. The only significant time I have spent outside of the state was from 2007-2009 when I lived out of country in Italy. During…Details
Depending on the severity of a traffic violation, it can be wise to consult with an attorney regarding the violation so that you can have a better understanding of your case and your violation and representation in court. Violations range from local to federal level statutes and minor infractions in terms of these violations can cost you from around $100 to $200 and a few points on your driving record. In instances like these, it may not be worth it to spend the money for an attorney.
However, in instances of major and criminal infractions, hiring an attorney is well worth it when your license may be revoked and an extended period of time without being able to drive could cost you more.Details
In most circumstances, a person convicted of a DUI in Arizona cannot drive a motor vehicle without a functioning certified ignition interlock device for at least 12 months. Prior to September 13, 2013, a person required to install an interlock device in their vehicle could drive their employer-owned vehicle(s) in the course and scope of…Details
Getting a learner’s permit and driver’s license are rites of passage for many teenagers. Parents need to know the law as it pertains to their teen drivers.
Children generally can get their instruction permit when they’re 15 ½ years old. If the child’s parents are married to each other, usually only one parent needs to sign their child’s permit application. If the child’s parents are divorced and both parents have custody, both parents must sign their child’s permit application. The child must pass a written test and a vision exam to get their permit. When the child is driving, a licensed driver at least 21 years old must sit in the front passenger seat. Children generally can apply for their driver’s license when they turn 16, provided that they have had their permit for six months and completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours occurring at night.Details
Though the dangers of texting and driving are now well known and firmly established, and despite the introduction of several bills geared towards formally banning texting while behind the wheel, Arizona remains one of nine states that has yet to adopt a formal texting while driving ban. While the issue of whether or not such a ban is appropriate continues to be debated, the lack of a formal ban on texting and driving does not necessarily absolve a driver of any liability should texting lead to an accident, thanks to Arizona’s statutes regarding reckless driving.
Current Arizona reckless driving statutes state that an individual is guilty of reckless driving if they operate a vehicle “in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Those convicted of reckless driving are guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor, and, if certain aggravating factors apply, a conviction could result in a jail sentence.Details
In Arizona, there are many self-service forms available for certain areas of law. There are also certified legal document preparers who can draft certain legal forms. These services tend to have lower up-front costs than attorneys. Unfortunately, however, a person can end up paying more in the long run by failing to hire an attorney now.Details
Golf carts are a common mode of transport in the Valley of the Sun and not just on the golf course. Arizona’s climate and weather make it the perfect state for an increased number of golf carts, and the development of communities where golf carts are second vehicles to the people who live there as contributes to an increase in the number of golf carts on the road. Del Webb has created several fast growing retirement communities in and around the Valley and allows residents to own and drive golf carts on roadways and designated pathways. These carts are equipped with headlights and turn signals.
Arizona has enacted statutes to control driving of golf carts on roadways and requiring minimum liability insurance coverage. A.R.S. §§28-4009 & 28-4132. Arizona law precludes golf carts from driving on public roads with a speed limit over 35 mph. A.R.S. §28-966. Arizona motorists are required by law to treat golf carts as they would any other bicyclist or pedestrian sharing the road. Golf carts and their drivers share the same legal rights as any other motor vehicle.Details
The Arizona Department of Public Safety operated a special DUI Task Force in the West Valley this past weekend. The special task force coordinated by the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety and consisting of various law enforcement officers (including specially trained DUI recognition officers) conducted saturation patrols to seek out and stop impaired drivers.
These efforts are similar to those typically seen during the holiday season and entail special checkpoints and an increased police presence in the area. Driving under the influence is a serious matter and the penalties for doing so in Arizona are quite costly as a result. Some basic information is provided below:Details
In Arizona, “driving under the influence” statutes define a person’s ability to operate a vehicle in multiple ways. Listed below are explanations and definitions of Arizona’s DUI classifications:
1. A “DUI” is operating a vehicle while impaired to the slightest degree. Impairment may be from alcohol, drugs, or some other method by which the driver’s ability to operate a vehicle is somehow compromised. In other words, one does not need to be drinking to pulled over and ticketed for a DUI in Arizona.
2. A person cited for “Per Se DUI” is a person whose blood alcohol content is above 0.08 within 2 hours of driving. A Per Se DUI is the offense people usually refer to when they, or someone they know, has been arrested for drinking while driving.Details