Gavel, Alcoholic Drink and Car Keys

Don’t drink and drive.  No, really, DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE.

  As Memorial Weekend approaches, many Arizonans will be traveling – and often drinking alcohol – more than usual.  Now is a good time to reflect on the potential consequences of consuming alcohol or drugs – even prescription medications – and then driving. “Drunk driving” is a commonly used term, but not a legal one;…

Details

Don’t Wait until the New Year to Start your Resolutions

Attorneys often hear the phrase, “I hope I never need an attorney” or “I hope I never need your services.” Society often associates a law firm’s services and the need for an attorney as only being for when negative situations have arisen. There are many reasons to visit an attorney’s office, not only for negative situations in life. Many people take on new life adventures such as starting a new business, getting married, or starting a family, and could use the services of an attorney. Do not wait until the New Year to start your resolutions, and get a head start on your adventures.

Details

Why You Should Pay a Lawyer

Often people ask, “Why should I pay a lawyer?” when legal document prepares in Arizona can often prepare documents that people would normally go to a lawyer to prepare instead. Arizona  is  rather lax in allowing non-lawyers prepare what are essentially “legal documents.” These individuals typically prepare wills, trusts, powers of attorney, divorce and bankruptcy petitions, Limited Liability Company filings and other such documents. In addition to these “document preparers”, there are several online websites that essentially offer the same services.

Details

Teen Drivers

Getting a learner’s permit and driver’s license are rites of passage for many teenagers.  Parents need to know the law as it pertains to their teen drivers.

Children generally can get their instruction permit when they’re 15 ½ years old.  If the child’s parents are married to each other, usually only one parent needs to sign their child’s permit application.  If the child’s parents are divorced and both parents have custody, both parents must sign their child’s permit application. The child must pass a written test and a vision exam to get their permit.  When the child is driving, a licensed driver at least 21 years old must sit in the front passenger seat.  Children generally can apply for their driver’s license when they turn 16, provided that they have had their permit for six months and completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, with at least 10 of those hours occurring at night.

Details